Life in Lockdown – Week 6

Freddy – Stage 5. April 2020

A journal entry by a student during the school shutdown and nationwide COVID-19 lockdown.


AT THE BEGINNING 

On Friday the 13th everyone was nervous and talking about the virus, it was scary as I heard lots of rumours around the school. I didn’t know what was going to happen. My Mum told me that I was going to be home schooled. 

At the beginning was fun – playstation, movies and board games! You would think it’s a kids dream!!!

BUT NOW

I am wondering if I will be able to see my friends again, not just on my phone or on Microsoft Teams.

I also wonder how nice the grass will be to touch.

ALL ABOUT WORK

At first I was a bit nervous about being home-schooled, as I remembered Mum saying that her teachers were strict at her school, so I thought she would be the same. But it is not that bad after all!

We start the day off with P.E. with Joe. Even Dad joins in sometimes. Then I eat my breakfast and do my journal, and any work set for me. Dad always helps me with geography, as Mum is terrible at geography!

Dad has managed to go to the finca at least once a week, as we have chickens there. I can’t wait to go there and see them and run around the garden. The marina where the boat is kept for his boss, is closed. Every two weeks they send photos to let Dad know that it is ok.

LOTS OF JOBS IN THE HOUSE

Dad made new lights in the kitchen we painted the hall and the bathroom. Dad got a hole pot of paint spilt upstairs.

DOGS

The dogs are getting more love, as we never leave them alone, because we can’t go anywhere and they get more cuddles and treats.

Mum sneaked me out for a dog walk (even though we have two dogs, it felt naughty). The field we go to is nice and green. We can hear a peacock and donkeys and loads of horses too.

Misty soooooooo needs a haircut he looks like a wookie from star wars!!!

NEARING THE END

I found out there could be no school until SEPTEMBER!!!!!! But there is a good side of things, on the 26th we are allowed to go out and I can take my football.

My Mum and Dad are worried about their Mum and Dad (my granny and grandpa) because they have chest problems. They are wondering when we will see them again, although I think they are as tough as old boots.

This is our sixth week in lockdown.  When will it end????

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑