The abandoned hospital

Evan – Stage 10. October 2021

A descriptive composition

Not suitable for young readers.


It was a dark, stinky and deserted hospital – all I could hear was the noise of a window tapping. The rain drummed on the roof, as if it was trying to get in, while the wind whispered through the small holes of the rough walls, as if it wanted to tell me something, something like that I wasn’t in a safe place. All those noises and sounds resonated like a scary song in my head. I could not stop hearing it – it was endless. It was like the song had trapped me and I couldn’t get out of it. 

As I was approaching, I could see a dull bulb, like the light at the end of a tunnel. It seemed as though that bulb had been there for centuries and it was even covered with cobwebs. There were broken machines all around with millions of cables hanging from them. The surgical equipment covered practically the entire floor. They still had blood stains and there was what looked like a liver in one of the corners; it was as though a person had been dismembered in the middle of the hospital. Graffiti covered the walls, and as I turned to the left to see the patient rooms, scrawled across the wall was the sentence: ‘Welcome to Hell’ in blood-red and with a terrifying, imposing and frightening face of the devil next to it.

The smells were hair-raising. The expired medicine and the alcohol odours were repulsive, loathsome and really repugnant. The stale smell of smoke from the cigarettes that had been there, made me feel nauseous and I couldn’t stop coughing; there were even moments when I couldn’t breathe. I was overwhelmed and exhausted. I could feel the dense humidity which gave me chills and left me bathed in sweat. It was like that place was possessed, it was like I was being controlled.

With all that mixture of feeling and thoughts, I could perceive and visualise the nurses going around, stressed, agonising; the emergency service in full swing and patients waiting hours and hours to be called. I could sense the souls of the people that had been here. But I couldn’t understand why everything was dead; why everything had become extinct.

As I retraced my steps, nothing changed. But everything became was dark again. The tapping of the window was still endless, just like the heavy, powerful and ferocious rain. The wind kept threatening. The trees swayed from side to side; they looked like they were going to fall at any moment. Finally, I closed the door of the entrance and I moved away, little by little, from that horrible, grisly and spooky hospital. 

2 thoughts on “The abandoned hospital

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑